Slideshow

Get the Flash Player to see the slideshow.

Ouroboros Team

A group that is committed to the creation of gigantic works of art for the preservation of the environment
Projets Ouroboros Team

Projets réalisés Turquie Lac Tuz Gölü Inde Karnataka Argentine Terre de Feu

Strongly raising awareness on pollution and recycling issues…

Jean-Luc MEYER-ABBATUCCI and Hugo HEBREARD created the collective Ouroboros Team in 2005.

Ouroboros refers to the ancient image of a snake biting its tail. In many myths, it symbolizes the eternal regeneration of life.

The Ouroboros symbol has been strategically chosen by the artists to warn humanity of the dangers of irresponsible consumption, leading to irreversible environmental degradation. Ouroboros Team wants to encourage people to opt for solutions to recycling, waste recovery and to respect identities in terms of sustainable development.

During their travels, the Ouroboros Team promotes their projects, which are now being discussed in various places around the world. By doing so, they hope to help raise awareness on issues concerning the protection of natural resources, improving living conditions and respect for the identities, which according to the United Nations, are three of the five principles of sustainable development.

…by realizing visible sculptures from the space.

Even though their art practice is quite diverse ranging from photographs, videos, paintings and installations, Ouroboros Team has a preference for Land Art, developmental projects and site-specific open-air installations made out of natural materials, which most of the time are photographed from space.

start-Neguev shuttle
Departure of the shuttle, which NASA has photographed
in 1995 Israel Negev project

Land Art facilities has been and will be photographed by satellite in conjunction with space agencies of the countries concerned (Site web ESA : http://www.esa.int/esaLP/LPsmos.html). Artists draw a connection between Art and Science through technology questioning the future of a global economy and the impact it has on our planet. The satellite image also represents a work of art in an ultimate workshop, the Earth, ignoring the boundaries to gather men around an urgent and common cause.

ouroboros sinaï
Ouroboros 8 km route with caterpillar in Egypt in the Sinai desert
and photographed by the satellite SPOT French, November 2005

Slideshow

Get the Flash Player to see the slideshow.

Ouroboros Team

Un collectif s’engage dans la création d’œuvres d’art gigantesques pour la préservation de l’environnement

Projets Ouroboros Team

Projets réalisés Turquie Lac Tuz Gölü Inde Karnataka Argentine Terre de Feu

Sensibiliser massivement sur les problématiques environnementales…

Jean-Luc MEYER-ABBATUCCI et Hugo HEBREARD créent le collectif Ouroboros Team en 2005.

Ouroboros désigne l’image antique d’un serpent qui se mord la queue symbolisant dans de nombreux mythes l’éternelle régénération de la Vie.

Le symbole de l’Ouroboros a été choisi par les artistes pour alerter l’Humanité des dangers d’une consommation irresponsable, entraînant des dégradations environnementales irreversibles. Ouroboros Team souhaite encourager les Hommes à opter pour des solutions de recyclage, de récupération, de respect des identités, dans l’optique d’un Développement Durable.

Au cours de ses voyages, Ouroboros Team a réalisé et mis plusieurs projets à l’étude dans divers endroits de la planète et espère ainsi contribuer à soulever des questions urgentes concernant la protection des ressources naturelles, l’amélioration des conditions de vie et le respect des identités qui sont trois des cinq principes du Développement Durable tel que les Nations Unies le définissent.

…en réalisant des sculptures visibles de l’espace.

Si leurs pratiques artistiques sont diverses : photographies, vidéos, peintures, installations, Ouroboros Team désire avant tout développer des projets d’installations en extérieur et in situ, à partir de matériaux naturels (Land Art), le plus souvent photographiés depuis l’espace.

depart-navette-neguev

Départ de la navette de la NASA qui a photographié
en 1995 le projet Israël Néguev

La plupart des projets d’installations de Land Art ont été, et seront photographiés par satellite, en partenariat avec les Agences Spatiales des pays concernés (Site web ESA : http://www.esa.int/esaLP/LPsmos.html). Les artistes établissent un rapprochement entre l’Art et la Science par le biais des technologies de pointe, interrogeant l’avenir d’une économie mondiale et de ses conséquences sur notre planète.
La photo satellite représente également l’œuvre d’art dans son atelier, la Terre, ignorant les frontières pour rassembler les Hommes autour d’une cause commune et urgente.

ouroboros sinaï

Ouroboros de 8 km tracé avec des tractopelles en
Egypte dans le désert du Sinaï et photographié
par le satellite français SPOT, novembre 2005